The Court Improvement Initiative (CII) is modeled after the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges’ Model Courts Program. Judges from 24 jurisdictions across the state voluntarily joined CII to improve their how courts handle child abuse and neglect cases. CII courts gather twice a year to share practices, attend workshops on emerging best practices, and develop protocols or standards for CII courts to initiate in their jurisdictions. The semiannual CII meetings provide a forum for vigorous discussion and shared learning.

The continuous review of child welfare data is an important aspect of CII, giving judges insights into broader trends statewide and informing judicial decision-making. A primary resource for this data is


  • Appalachian Judicial Circuit
  • Bartow County
  • Carroll County
  • Chatham County
  • Clayton County
  • Cobb County
  • Conasauga Judicial Circuit
  • Coweta County
  • Dawson County
  • DeKalb County
  • Douglas County
  • Enotah Judicial Circuit
  • Forsyth County
  • Fulton County
  • Gordon County
  • Gwinnett County
  • Hall County
  • Houston County
  • Newton County
  • Paulding County
  • Richmond County
  • Rockdale County
  • Troup County
  • Western Judicial Circuit